Have you noticed Google telling that they will change their user agreement as of November 11th? One of the changes will allow them to use your face (Google+ avatar) to promote stuff.
We want to give you – and your friends and connections – the most useful information. Recommendations from people you know can really help. So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1’d. This only happens when you take an action (things like +1’ing, commenting or following) – and the only people who see it are the people you’ve chosen to share that content with.
If you don’t like to have your face pop up as a promotion for a restaurant or some gadget shop you might want to opt out of this. It can luckily done pretty easily here [https://plus.google.com/settings/endorsements]. Make sure the check box is unchecked.